James W. Brooks Medical Student Scholarship

About the Award

The STSA James W. Brooks Medical Student Scholarship seeks to identify and encourage medical students who are considering a career in cardiothoracic surgery. The Scholarship includes one round-trip, coach-class airfare to attend the STSA Annual Meeting; three nights’ hotel accommodation; tickets to attend the President’s Mixer and the Dinner Gala; and an assigned STSA mentor to assist in planning a schedule of educational programming, answer questions and facilitate introductions.

The criteria to apply for the scholarship are as follows:

  • Applicants must be a rising second, third or fourth year medical student in good standing at a U.S. medical institution in the STSA region who displays general academic excellence and promise. Medical students training at a U.S. medical institution outside of the STSA region who obtain a letter of nomination from an STSA member (Active or Senior) will also be considered.
  • Applicants must display a significant dedication to the field of cardiothoracic surgery.
  • Applicants must demonstrate commitment through community service, education, and leadership.

To see a map of the STSA region click here.

The application process the 2019 James W. Brooks Medical Student Scholarship is now closed. Interested applicants must apply online at https://sts.smapply.io/. In addition to completing an application form, applicants will be asked to upload a current CV, a letter of nomination from an STSA member (Active or Senior), and a letter of support from his or her medical institution dean confirming permission for the applicant to travel to the meeting in Florida.

Contact STSA Headquarters at stsa@stsa.org or 312.202.5892 with questions.

2018 STSA Brooks Medical Student Scholarship Recipients
  • Walker Blanding, Medical University of South Carolina
  • William Frankel, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Shawn Shah, University of Virginia School of Medicine

The Scholarship Committee would like to recognize the following finalists.

2018 STSA Brooks Medical Student Scholarship Finalists
  • Nicholas Cavanaugh, Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Lillian Kang, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Than Nguyen, University of Iowa
  • Jacqueline Olive, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Benjamin Smood, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Thank you to everyone who applied or wrote a letter of recommendation!

To see a list of previous STSA Brooks Medical Student Scholarship recipients and finalists, click here.