James W. Brooks Resident Scholarship

About the Award

The STSA James W. Brooks Resident Scholarship seeks to identify and encourage general surgery residents, who are committed to pursuing a career in cardiothoracic surgery, to travel to the STSA Annual Meeting. The Scholarship includes one round-trip, coach-class airfare to attend the STSA Annual Meeting; three nights’ hotel accommodation; tickets to attend the President’s Mixer and the Dinner Gala; and an assigned STSA mentor to assist in planning a schedule of educational programming, answer questions and facilitate introductions.

The criteria to apply for the scholarship are as follows:

  • Applicants must be general surgery residents in good standing at a U.S. medical institution in the STSA region who displays academic excellence and promise. General surgery residents training at a U.S. medical institution outside of the STSA region who obtain a letter of nomination from an STSA member (Active or Senior) will also be considered.
  • Applicants must display a significant dedication to the field of cardiothoracic surgery.
  • Applicants must demonstrate commitment through community service, education, and leadership.

To see a map of the STSA region click here.

The application process the 2020 James W. Brooks Resident Scholarship will open in June. Interested applicants must apply online at https://sts.smapply.io/. In addition to completing an application form, applicants will be asked to upload a current CV, a letter of nomination from an STSA member (Active or Senior), and a letter of support from his or her program director confirming permission for the applicant to travel to the meeting in Florida.

Contact STSA Headquarters at stsa@stsa.org or 312.202.5892 with questions.

2019 STSA Brooks Resident Scholarship Recipients
  • Eric Etchill, MD, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • C. Corbin Frye, MD, Washington University School of Medicine
  • Gregory Leya, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Rodrigo Zea Vera, MD, Baylor College of Medicine

The Scholarship Committee would like to recognize the following finalists.

2019  STSA Brooks Resident Scholarship Finalists
  • Maggie Connolly, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Erin Corsini, MD, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Navin Vigneshwar, MD, University of Colorado

Thank you to everyone who applied and wrote a letter of recommendation!

To see a list of previous STSA Brooks Resident Scholarship recipients and finalists click here.