RSSCategory: STSA History

STSA 66th Annual Meeting Program Book Available + Scientific Session Highlights

The countdown begins! STSA President, Jeffrey P. Jacobs, MD along with STSA Program Committee Co-Chairs, Joseph A. Dearani, MD and Daniela Molena, MD encourage you to join STSA at its 66th Annual Meeting in Marco Island, FL, November 6-9, 2019.

The STSA 66th Annual Meeting Program Book is now available. Of important note, STSA has added scientific e-Posters as supplemental education into this year’s Annual Meeting. Join us on Wednesday, November 6, for a casual evening of networking and complex case presentations which will kick off the meeting at 7:00 pm. A Postgraduate Welcome Reception immediately precedes this session beginning at 6:00 pm in the Calusa Ballroom Foyer.

Review the Program Book for a complete schedule of scientific programming. Please be advised there have been minor changes to the educational program which include modifications to speakers and assigned discussants since the Program Book has been finalized. All changes will be reflected in the STSA Mobile Application which will be available in the coming days and on site during the meeting. Live updates will be applied to the app as needed on site.

Highlights include:

  • Wednesday night’s casual Postgraduate Session titled “I Wish I Could Have Done That Case Over”;
  • The Harold Urschel History Lectureship presented by W. Randolph Chitwood, MD;
  • President’s Invited Lecturer and Keynote Speakers, James A. Quintessenza, MD and Martin J. Elliott, MD;
  • Scientific Sessions scheduled for Thursday and Friday will include oral presentations and STSA/CTSNet surgical videos  selected by the Program Committee;
  • Concurrent subspecialty breakouts include Adult Cardiac, Thoracic, Congenital, Adult Congenital, and ECMO/ Transplant;
  • A special session on Friday morning titled: DIVERSITY, HISTORY, and ADVOCACY featuring talks from Robert S.D. Higgins, MD, Constantine Mavroudis, MD, Keith Naunheim, MD and John E. Mayer, MD.
  • Scientific e-Posters in the meeting foyer on Thursday and Friday;
  • A concluding Postgraduate Session on Saturday, November 9, will feature a plenary session titled: CHARITY, INNOVATION, and QUALITY. Featured speakers include Joseph A. Dearani, MD, Duke E. Cameron, MD and David M. Shahian, MD.

If you have not registered, registration will be available on site at the Annual Meeting in Marco Island, FL. For housing, please contact the JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort to check availability at 800.438.4373. If there is no availability at the Marriott, please check room availability at the following hotel located .4 miles from the JW Marriott. (Please note that STSA will not be providing transportation between the JW Marriott and the Hilton.)

Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort and Spa
560 South Collier Boulevard
Marco Island, FL 34145

We hope to see you in Marco Island.


STSA Headquarters

STSA 66th Annual Meeting
This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of The Society of Thoracic Surgeons and The Southern Thoracic Surgical Association. The Society of Thoracic Surgeons is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The Society of Thoracic Surgeons designates this live activity for a maximum of 17.50 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

October 24, 2019 | By More

STSA Members Elect Dr. Jeff Jacobs as President

STSA members elected Jeff Jacobs, MD, as the next President of STSA at its annual Business Meeting held on November 9, 2018.

Council Chair, Dr. Kevin Accola, hands the gavel to the new STSA President, Dr. Jeff Jacobs.

Dr. Jacobs has been active with STSA for several years, serving on the Finance Committee, as Chair of the Program Committee, and as Vice President. Dr. Jacobs is Chief of the Division of Cardiovascular Surgery and Director of the Andrews/Daicoff Cardiovascular Program at Johns Hopkins All Children’s Heart Institute in St. Petersburgh, FL.

Join your fellow members for the STSA 66th Annual Meeting, November 6-9, 2019 in Marco Island, FL, where Dr. Jacobs will present his Presidential Address.

November 26, 2018 | By More

Five STSA Past Presidents Identified in 1955 AATS Annual Meeting Photo

STSA staff recently came across a letter from STSA Past President, Edward R. Munnell, MD, including a photo taken sixty years ago at the 1955 American Association for Thoracic Surgery Annual Meeting in Atlantic City.

The photo features five STSA Past Presidents, including Dr. Munnell himself (STSA Past President, 1967) along with James E. Dailey, MD (1962); DeWitt C. Daughtry, MD (1961); Joseph W. Peabody, Jr., MD (1977); and Hawley H. Seiler, MD (1971).

As many STSA members plan to attend the AATS 95th Annual Meeting in Seattle later this month, it seemed only appropriate to share this image and Dr. Munnell’s 2003 letter with the STSA community. Dr. Munnell’s letter to STSA staff read:

Dear Christine,

I just found this old photograph showing many of the lovely members of the STSA and six past presidents. This also shows close friends of mine from the thoracic cardiovascular surgery section of the Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit.

I hope this will be of interest.

Best wishes.

Edward Munnell

STSA Past Presidents Identified in 1955 AATS Annual Meeting Photo

STSA Past Presidents, members, and friends attended the AATS Annual Meeting in Atlantic City in 1955.

Individuals pictured are listed from bottom left:

  • Edward R. Munnell, MD (STSA Past President, 1967);
  • Conrad R. Lam, MD;
  • DeWitt C. Daughtry, MD (STSA Past President, 1961);
  • Takeshi Ohara, MD;
  • Robert E. McCall, Jr., MD;
  • Edgar Dovis, MD;
  • Joseph W. Peabody, Jr. (STSA Past President, 1977);
  • J. Moore, MD;
  • James E. Dailey, MD (STSA Past President, 1962);
  • Mrs. Mary Walkup;
  • Hawley H. Seiler, MD (STSA Past President, 1971);
  • Harry Walkup, MD; and
  • John Rayl, MD.

If you have historical STSA photos that you would like to share with the STSA community, please contact STSA Executive Director, Megan Drumm, at

View the note that Dr. Munnell sent to STSA in 2003, including a diagram of the table identifying each individual pictured in the photograph:

Dr. Munnell's Note to STSA

Dr. Munnell’s note included a detailed diagram identifying each individual pictured.

April 16, 2015 | By More