RSSCategory: Uncategorized

STSA 68th Annual Meeting Call for Abstracts

STSA 68th Annual Meeting Call for Abstracts | April 5 Deadline

The Southern Thoracic Surgical Association is pleased to announce that abstracts are now being accepted for the STSA 68th Annual Meeting. The STSA 68th Annual Meeting will be held November 3-6, 2021 at the Loews Atlanta Hotel in Atlanta, GA. The deadline to submit abstracts is Sunday, April 5, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Oral, video, history (oral), oral/poster, and poster only abstract submissions are being accepted. The submission categories include adult cardiac, congenital, and general thoracic, as well as surgical education, simulation and team-based learning, patient safety, and lessons learned from intraoperative complications.

Access the STSA 68th Annual Meeting abstract submission website.

You may review the STSA 68th Annual Meeting abstract submission guidelines at the beginning of the submission process and prior to selecting your submission type. Of important note, STSA requires that all abstract authors (primary and co-authors) submit their commercial and financial disclosure information by the abstract submission deadline of April 5, 2021.  Co-authors may login and complete their personal commercial relationship form. Only one form is required per author for the meeting.

The 2021 abstract submission website is hosted by the same company STSA used last year. You may use the login credentials you set up during your abstract submission in 2020. It is also the same provider STSA uses for CME evaluations and the mobile application. If you have attended a STSA Annual Meeting in the past five years and claimed CME credits, you may already have an account within the system. If you do not retain your account information, please use the reset password link first to assist with the prevention of creating duplicate accounts. If your e-mail address is found within the system, an e-mail will be sent to you with further instructions. If not, please create a new account.

If you have attended a STSA meeting in the past, you understand why attendees return year after year. The collegiality, fun, and scientific value of the STSA Annual Meeting are unmatched. The STSA Annual Meeting continues to be an exceptional forum for disseminating your work to the entire field of cardiothoracic surgery.

Abstracts accepted to the Annual Meeting for oral presentation are required to submit a manuscript for publication consideration in The Annals of Thoracic Surgery, which has a circulation of more than 8,000 subscribers. During the abstract submission process, authors may indicate if they wish to request a waiver from submitting their manuscript to The Annals of Thoracic Surgery. Requests will be reviewed during the STSA Program Committee Meeting in May. Subsequent requests will not be considered.

Please direct any support questions regarding abstract submissions and account login credentials to STSA at or call (312) 202-5892.

February 4, 2021 | By More

Spring 2017 Issue of STSA News Published

The Spring 2017 issue of STSA News is now available. This issue features:

  • A letter from STSA President, David R. Jones, MD;
  • STSA membership recruitment information;
  • Highlights from the STSA 63rd Annual Meeting;
  • Program changes to the upcoming STSA 64th Annual Meeting, including updates from the Program and Postgraduate Committees;
  • 2017 awards and scholarship opportunities; and
  • 2017 Schedule of Events.

View additional updates from STSA and past issues of STSA News at

Please contact STSA Headquarters with questions or suggestions regarding STSA News at

June 26, 2017 | By More

Residents Invited to Compete for 2017 Hawley Seiler Award

J. Trent Magruder, MD (left) accepted his 2016 Hawley Seiler Residents Award at the November 2016 STSA Annual Meeting in Naples.

Residents are invited to submit abstracts for the STSA 64th Annual Meeting and participate in the 2017 Hawley Seiler Residents Award Competition.

Named for STSA Past President and Founder, Hawley H. Seiler, MD, this award is presented annually to the resident who most excels in their manuscript and oral presentation at the STSA Annual Meeting.

The 2017 Hawley Seiler Residents Award winner will receive $500, a personalized plaque, and their name will be engraved on a permanent plaque to be displayed at future STSA Annual Meetings. The winner will be announced at the 2017 Annual Awards Dinner & Dance. Residents participating in the competition are eligible for reduced-price tickets to attend this event.

The deadline to submit abstracts is Friday April 7, 2017, 11:59 pm, ET. For technical questions regarding submissions, e-mail Technical Support at or call (434) 964-4100. Technical Support is available Monday-Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m., ET. For non-technical questions regarding submissions, e-mail STSA at or call (312) 202-5892.

March 1, 2017 | By More

STSA Welcomes 56 New Members

STSA membership voted to confirm the applications for 56 new Active, Associate, Candidate and Pre-Candidate members during the November 11, 2016 Annual Business Meeting. STSA gratefully acknowledges the Membership Committee’s work in recruiting and reviewing applications over the past year. Chaired by James Robert Headrick, MD, 2016 Membership Committee Members also included Edward Chen, MD; Andrew Lodge, MD; and Edward Savage, MD.

The deadline to submit application materials for consideration at the November 2017 Business Meeting is September 15, 2017.

Learn more about STSA member categories and download an application:

Active Members

  • Raed M. Alnajjar, MD
  • Brett Beecher, MD
  • Donnell K. Bowen, DO
  • Stephen R. Broderick, MD
  • Lisa M. Brown, MD, MAS
  • Errol L. Bush, MD
  • Wilson Monroe Clements, MD
  • David C. Cleveland, MD, MBA
  • William C. Conner, MD
  • Matthew R. Danter, MD, FRCSC
  • David A. Fullerton, MD
  • Dawn L. Hui, MD
  • Robert J. Keenan, MD
  • TK Susheel Kumar, MD
  • Lawrence Lee, MD
  • Virginia Litle, MD
  • Jenifer L. Marks, MD
  • HelenMari Merritt Genore, DO
  • Raghav Murthy, MD
  • Alykhan S. Nagji, MD
  • Soumya R. Neravetla, MD
  • Brian L. Pettiford, MD
  • J. Matthew Reinersman, MD
  • Sameh Said, MD
  • Gary S. Schwartz, MD
  • John H. Storey, MD
  • Benjamin Wei, MD
  • Derek E. Williams, MD
  • Leora T. Yarboro, MD

Associate Members

  • Michael Lapp, PA-C
  • Michael Loga, MSN-FNP
  • Nathan Woody, FNP-C

Candidate Members

  • Michael Archer, DO
  • Gautam Bhatia, MD
  • Alejandro Bribriesco, MD
  • Nels Carrol, MD
  • Tessa Cartwright, MD, MPH
  • Julie Doberne, MD, PhD
  • John Evans, MD
  • Meredith Harrison, MD
  • Matt Johnston, MD
  • Christopher Lawrance, MD
  • Bradley Lenoir, MD, MBA
  • Giovanni Piovesana, MD
  • Joshua Rosenblum, MD, PhD
  • Raina Sinha, MD, MPH
  • William Smith, DO
  • John Stringham, MD
  • Luis Velazco, MD
  • Brittany Zwischenberger, MD

Pre-Candidate Members

  • Hasina Maredia
  • Adishesh Narahari
  • Joshua Parreco
  • Benjamin Smood
  • Stanley Wolfe
  • Sara-Catherine Zingg

Congratulations and welcome to all of STSA’s newest members! Contact STSA Headquarters with questions about membership at or 312.202.5892.

February 16, 2017 | By More

View & Order STSA 62nd Annual Meeting Photos

STSA’s 62nd Annual Meeting was held November 4-7, 2015 at Disney’s Yacht & Beach Club Resorts in Lake Buena Vista, FL. Thank you to everyone who made contributions to this successful meeting, including STSA leadership, meeting attendees, and exhibitors!

Photos are now posted from the meeting.

STSA 62nd Annual MeetingSave the date! The STSA 63rd Annual Meeting will be held November 9-12, 2016 at the Naples Grande Beach Resort in Naples, FL. We hope to see you there!

The STSA 63rd Annual Meeting abstract submission process will open in early-February 2016. Learn more at Contact STSA Headquarters with questions at or 312.202.5892.

November 24, 2015 | By More