Congratulations to STSA’s 2018 Scholarship and Award Winners

November 28, 2018 | By More

At this year’s STSA 65th Annual Meeting, the following individuals were recognized at the Dinner Gala held on Friday, November 9, 2018 at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort. Please join STSA members in congratulating this year’s award and scholarship recipients.

Clifford van Meter President’s Award
Melissa Levack, MD | Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
Prevalence of and Risk Factors for Permanent Pacemaker Implantation after Aortic Valve Replacement

Carolyn Reed President’s Award
Tamar Nobel, MD
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
Optimal Surveillance for Node Negative Early Stage Esophageal Adenocarcinoma Following Esophagectomy

George R. Daicoff President’s Award
Jeff Jacobs, MD | Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital, Saint Petersburg, FL
The Importance of Noncardiac Congenital Disease: Refining The Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS) Congenital Heart Surgery Database (CHSD) Mortality Risk Model With Enhanced Adjustment for Chromosomal Abnormalities, Syndromes, and Noncardiac Congenital Anatomic Abnormalities

Tiki Award
William A. Baumgartner, MD | Johns Hopkins Medicine, Baltimore, MD

Osler Abbott Award
David R. Jones, MD
|Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY

Hawley H. Seiler Resident’s Award
Tessa Watt, MD
| University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
Does Mitral Valve Repair Restore Normal Life Expectancy?

Mavroudis-Urschel Award
Daniel L. Miller, MD
| WellStar Health System, Marietta, GA

Robert M. Sade Ethics Lecture
The Ethics Debate is a wonderful component of the STSA Annual Meeting each year. In honor of Dr. Robert M. Sade’s contributions to these outstanding ethics debates, the annual event has been named the Robert M. Sade Ethics Lecture.

STSA Inspiration Award
Walter Wolfe, MD
Gordon Murray, MD

James W. Brooks Medical Student Scholarship
Walker M. Blanding
| Medical University of South Carolina, Mt. Pleasant, SC
William C. Frankel | Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX
Shawn M. Shah | University of Virginia School of Medicine, Charlottesville, VA

James W. Brooks Resident Scholarship
Alexander P. Kossar, MD
| Upstate University Medical Center, Suffern, NY

For a narrative of each award and a list of past recipients, please visit

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Annual Meeting, Awards, Membership, News, STSA Scholarship