Robert Cerfolio Named 2019 STSA Mavroudis Urschel Award Recipient

December 19, 2019 | By More

The Mavroudis-Urschel Award was established in 2006 to recognize and honor an STSA member who made important contributions to the STSA scientific program and uniquely personified the social spirit, camaraderie, and fun for which the STSA is famous. The Award is named for STSA Past Presidents Constantine “Gus” Mavroudis and Harold Urschel, who both contributed significantly to STSA.

Robert Cerfolio, MD received the 2019 STSA Mavroudis Urschel Award at the STSA 66th Annual Meeting, in Marco Island, FL.

Dr. Cerfolio has held various leadership positions with STSA, including serving on the Program Committee, the Postgraduate Committee, CME Committee, and the Nominating Committee. Most notably, he has served as Secretary/Treasurer from 2007-2010 and as STSA President in 2013. He has enthusiastically supported the STSA Annual Meeting, year after year, whether it be as a speaker, moderator, or panelist. He has demonstrated to be a dedicated member of STSA, and encouraged others to participate. Through the Mavroudis Urschel Award, STSA recognizes Dr. Cerfolio’s significant contributions to the association.

The Award was presented during the Dinner Gala by the then President, Dr. Jeff Jacobs, at the STSA 66th Annual Meeting on November 8, 2019 at the JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort in Marco Island, Florida. View a list of past Mavroudis-Urschel Award recipients at

Tags: ,

Category: Annual Meeting, Awards, History, Membership, STSA History