James W. Brooks Resident Scholarship

About the Award

The STSA James W. Brooks Resident Scholarship seeks to identify and encourage general surgery residents, who are committed to pursuing a career in cardiothoracic surgery, to travel to the STSA Annual Meeting. The Scholarship includes one round-trip, coach-class airfare to attend the STSA Annual Meeting; three nights’ hotel accommodation; tickets to attend the President’s Mixer and the Dinner Gala; and an assigned STSA mentor to assist in planning a schedule of educational programming, answer questions and facilitate introductions.

The criteria to apply for the scholarship are as follows:

  • Applicants must be general surgery residents in good standing at a U.S. medical institution in the STSA region who displays academic excellence and promise. General surgery residents training at a U.S. medical institution outside of the STSA region who obtain a letter of nomination from an STSA member will also be considered.
  • Applicants must display a significant dedication to the field of cardiothoracic surgery.
  • Applicants must demonstrate commitment through community service, education, and leadership.

The application process for the 2018 James W. Brooks Resident Scholarship is closed. Interested applicants must apply online at https://sts.fluidreview.com/. In addition to completing an application form, applicants will be asked to upload a current CV, a letter of nomination from an STSA member, and a letter of support from his or her program director confirming permission for the applicant to travel to the meeting in Florida. The submission deadline for applications is July 13, 2018, 11:59 pm CT.

Contact STSA Headquarters at stsa@stsa.org or 312.202.5892 with questions or concerns.

2017 STSA Brooks Resident Scholarship Recipient
  • Charles Fraser, MD, The Johns Hopkins Hospital

There were over 20 qualified candidates who applied for the Brooks Resident Scholarship in 2017, and the Committee would like to recognize the following Finalists.

2017  STSA Brooks Resident Scholarship Finalists
  • Maggie Hodges, MD, University of Colorado
  • Kanika Kalra, MD, Emory University School of Medicine
  • Mary Mrdutt, MD, Scott & White Medical Center
  • Eden Payabyab, MD, VCU Health
  • Chi-Fu Yang, MD, Duke University

Thank you to everyone who applied and wrote a letter of recommendation!

Past STSA Brooks Resident Scholarship Recipients
Past STSA Brooks Resident Scholarship Finalists
  • 2014:
    • Brett Broussand, MD
    • Asvin Ganapathi, MD
    • Pamela Samson, MD
    • Terry Shih, MD
    • Tom Theruvath, MD
    • Brody Wehman, MD
  • 2015
    • James Mehaffey, MD
    • Vivekkumar Patel, MD
    • Eden Payabyab, MD
    • William Ragalie, MD
    • Walter Wakwe, MD
    • Judson Williams, MD
  • 2016
    • Peter Chen
    • Todd Crawford
    • Amelia Maiga
    • Kunal Patel
    • Duke Pfitzinger
    • Emily Reardon