Tag: Tiki Award

Congratulations to STSA’s 2019 Scholarship and Award Winners

At this year’s STSA 66th Annual Meeting, the following individuals were recognized at the Dinner Gala held on Friday, November 8, 2019 at the JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort. Please join STSA members in congratulating this year’s award and scholarship recipients.

Clifford van Meter President’s Award
Eric Charles, MD |University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
Patient-Reported Outcomes at One Year Define Successful Cardiac Surgery

Carolyn Reed President’s Award
Zhizhou Yang, MD | Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Nighttime Operation is Associated With Adverse Outcomes After Lung Transplantation

George R. Daicoff President’s Award
Tom Hoel, MD |Oslo University Hospital, Rikshospitalet, Oslo, Norway
Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome – Twenty Years Follow-up in Norway

STSA Inspiration Award
Charles Fraser, MD

Francis Robicsek, MD

Tiki Award
Jeffrey Jacobs, MD | Saint Petersburg, FL

Osler Abbott Award
Carl Backer, MD
| Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago, Chicago, IL

Kent Trinkle Education Lectureship
Robert S. D. Higgins, MD |
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD

Hawley H. Seiler Resident’s Award
Navin Vigneshwar, MD
| University of Colorado Denver, Denver, CO
Clinical Predictors of In-Hospital Mortality in Venoarterial Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation in Patients With Refractory Cardiogenic Shock

Harold Urschel History Lectureship
W. Randolph Chitwood, Jr., MD

Mavroudis-Urschel Award
Robert Cerfolio, MD
| NYU Langone Health, New York City, NY

James W. Brooks Medical Student Scholarship
Nicholas Goel
|University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
Samantha Halpern | Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, NC
Selena Li | Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, MA
Phillip Mackie | University of Florida, Gainesville, FL

James W. Brooks Resident Scholarship
Eric Etchill, MD
| Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, MD
C. Corbin Frye, MD | Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO
Gregory Leya, MD | Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
Rodrigo Zea Vera, MD | Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

For a narrative of each award and a list of past recipients, please visit stsa.org/awards.

December 6, 2019 | By More

Tiki Award Makes Way to Orlando for STSA 62nd Annual Meeting

In order to emphasize the importance of well-planned and prepared slides, STSA established the Tiki Award in 1964. This award is given to the person who presents a slide at the Annual Meeting that is judged to be the most memorable and noteworthy. The slide can be selected because it is unintelligible, confusing, cluttered, irrelevant, or conversely because it is superbly clear, concise, colorful, pertinent, and/or utilizes state of the art graphics.

The 2015 STSA Tiki Award is en route to Orlando.

2015 STSA Tiki Award

The 2015 STSA Tiki Award recipient will be announced at the Saturday, Nov. Awards Dinner & Dance.

The fifty-second STSA Tiki Award recipient will be announced during the Annual Awards Dinner & Dance on Saturday, Nov. 7. Review a list of past Tiki Award recipients at www.stsa.org/awards.

If you haven’t already done so, visit the STSA 62nd Annual Meeting registration desk to purchase your Awards Dinner & Dance tickets. Learn more about the 62nd Annual Meeting at www.stsa.org/62ndannual.

Contact STSA Headquarters with questions at stsa@stsa.org or 312.202.5892.

View additional Tiki Award recipient on photos on STSA’s Facebook page.

2014 Tiki

Robert Cerfolio presented Kristine Guleserian with the 2014 Tiki Award during the STSA 61st Annual Meeting.

2010 Tiki

Jeff Jacobs (left) and Keith Naunheim (right) presented Peter Smith (center) with the 2010 Tiki Award at the STSA 57th Annual Meeting.

2005 Tiki

John Puskas (left) presented Kevin Accola with the 2005 Tiki Award at the STSA 52nd Annual Meeting.

October 27, 2015 | By More