Walter Wolfe and Gordon Murray Named 2018 STSA Inspiration Award Recipients

December 4, 2018 | By More

The STSA Inspiration Award was established in 2007 to recognize the important contribution of mentorship to the specialty and the organization, and to encourage upcoming generations of CT surgeons by helping to cultivate mentors worthy of emulation.

The Award is given to the STSA member who has demonstrated exceptional efforts in motivating, inspiring, and cultivating the clinical and research talents of medical students, residents and/or early career CT surgeons. Nominations are submitted in writing to the President, to be considered for presentation at the STSA 65th Annual Meeting. The award is given at the discretion of the President in consultation with the Council. Drs. Walter Wolfe and Gordon Murray were named the 2018 Inspiration Award recipients at this year’s Dinner Gala.


Dr. Judson Williams accepts the award on behalf of Dr. Walter Wolfe.

Dr. Walter Wolfe has been a long-time Member of STSA. Nomination letters regarded his sage advice in or out of the operating room as always profound, and noted that he can always be counted on to “do the right thing”. Unable to accept the award at the Dinner Gala, he sent a kind note remarking that he was honored and humbled by this recognition.

“I am honored and humbled by this recognition. I am so sorry that I cannot be there. My joy in life was training residents in surgery. I was unaware of the impact I had but am so grateful to know this at this stage in my life. I am blessed to have been a small part of the training of so many talented and gifted surgeons while being a faculty member at Duke. It was my privilege and my blessing. Your friendships are treasured.”


Dr. Gordon Murray’s family proudly accepted the award on his behalf.

Dr. Gordon Murray who passed on May 21, 2018, was President of STSA in 1993, and a valued colleague to all members of STSA. Dr. Kevin Accola presented the award and said of Dr. Murray, “His recent passing saddened us all as he will be remembered as a sincere friend and a consummate gentlemen. I am humbled to present this award to Dr. Gordon Murray in honor of his memory, and we’re so pleased his family could be with us this evening”. Mrs. Murray attended the Dinner Gala and was escorted by Drs. Vinay Badwar and David Jones to the stage to accept the Award on behalf of her late-husband.


The Awards were presented during the Dinner Gala by the then President, Dr. Kevin Accola, at the STSA 65th Annual Meeting on November 9, 2018 at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation Resort in Amelia Island, Florida. View a list of past Inspiration Award recipients at

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Annual Meeting, Awards, History, Member Spotlight, Membership, Mentorship, News